United States Treasury Department Name Syrian Officials on Sanction List

The Obama administration Wednesday imposed sanctions on Syria‘s President Bashar al-Assad and other senior officials in his government, ratcheting up pressure on the regime amid continuing clashes with political protestors. This action is the first time that Bashar al-Assad is individually targeted.

“President al-Assad and his regime must immediately end the use of violence, answer the calls of the Syrian people for a more representative government, and embark upon the path of meaningful democratic reform,” said  the United States’ Treasury Secretary for Terrorism and Financial Intelligence, David Cohen.

The sanctions target  seven senior officials:

 Bashar Al-Assad (President)

Bashar al-Assad was not greatly involved in politics; his only public role was head of the Syrian Computer Society, which introduced the Internet to Syria in 2001. Al-Assad was confirmed as president by an unopposed referendum in 2000. He was expected to take a more liberal approach than his father. In an interview he stated that he saw democracy in Syria as ‘a tool to a better life’ but then argued that it would take time for democracy to come about and that it could not be rushed. Politically and economically, Syrian life has changed only slightly since 2000. Read More

Farouk Al-Shara (Vice President)

Sharaa has remained a trusted ally of the Assad regime. He has been very active in negotiating with many countries to gain better relations for Syria.  Sharaa maintains that Israel should give back all the territory it took from Syria in the 1967 war. He was involved in two attempts to negotiate a reconciliation with Israel in 1991 and 2000. Since Hafez Assad‘s death in 2000, his son Bashar Al-assad has reshuffled his cabinet several times to get rid of many of its long-time members. Sharaa, however, remained in office, and became one of the longest-serving foreign ministers in the world. It was believed that Sharaa might be forced to resign when, in October 2005, he was accused of misleading the international investigators in letters about the investigation of possible Syrian involvement in the murder of former Lebanese prime minister Rafiq Hariri. Read More

 Adel Safar (Prime Minister)

In September 2003, he was appointed Minister of Agriculture and Agrarian Reform in the cabinet of Muhammad Naji al-Otari. On 31 March 2011, he resigned, along with the rest of the Cabinet, at the request of President Bashar al-Assad during the 2011 Syrian protests. On 3 April 2011 al-Assad appointed him prime minister to succeed Muhammad Naji al-Otari. Read More 

Mohammad Ibrahim Al-Shaar (Minister of the Interior)

Al-Shaar was born in Latakia in 1950. He joined the armed forces in 1971 and held a number of security positions, including Chief of the military police in Aleppo and was the Director of Sednaya prison. He was commander of the military police prior to being appointed Minister of the Interior. Read More

5. Ali Habib Mahmoud (Minister of Defense)

No Picture Available

He was born 1939 in Tartus and joined the army in 1959. In 1962 he graduated from the military academy. In 1994 he was appointed commander of the Special Forces until he was appointed deputy chief of staff in 2002. In 2004 he was appointed chief of General Staff of the Army and the armed forces. Read More

6. Abdul Fatah Qudsiya (Head of Syrian Military Intelligence)

No Information or Picture Available

7. Mohammed Dib Zaitoun (Director of Political Security)

No Information or Picture Available

The European Union, Canada, Australia are currently working on similar sanctions on the same seven individuals and others as well.

Click here to read more on the United States sanctions on these seven

Syrian Emergency Task Force has been informed for a possibility of these names are being investigated as well :

  • Abdel Alghafour Sabouni

  • Abed Alateef Fahad

  • Adnan Bader Hassan

  • Adnan Belal

  • Adnan Makhlouf

  • Ahmed Shawkat

  • Ali Aslant

  • Ali Duba

  • Ali Fadel Alkenj

  • Ali Hamoud

  • Ali Hieder

  • Ameen Sharabi

  • Aneesa Makhlouf

  • Asef Shawkat

  • Atef Najeeb

  • Bade Alassad

  • Bahjat Suliman

  • Burhan Alghazali

  • Bushra Alassad

  • Eyad Ghazal

  • Eyad Makhlouf

  • Eyhab Makhlouf

  • Ez Aldeen Naser

  • Farrok Alshara

  • Fawaz Alassad

  • Ghassan Belal

  • Hani Azzouz

  • Hasan Khalel

  • Hassan Makhlouf

  • Hilal Alassad

  • Haitham Subhi Jawad

  • Hishaam Authman

  • Imad Gharewali

  • Isam Anbouba

  • Ibrahim Houejeh

  • Jamea Jamea

  • Jameel Alassad

  • Jihad Saftli

  • Kamal Alassad

  • Ismaeel Kamal  Alassad

  • Madar Alassad

  • Majed Alassad

  • Mohammad Abduh Ghazaleh

  • Mohammad Alassad

  • Mohammad Albakour

  • Mohammad Ali Saleh

  • Mohammad Alkhouly

  • Mohammad Alsyed

  • Mohammad Bakour

  • Mohammad Hassan Alagha

  • Mohammad Makhloof

  • Mohammad Naseef

  • Mohammad Sharabali

  • Mohammad Shawkat

  • Mohammad Suliman

  • Mohammed Hamsho

  • Muhsen Belal

  • Mustafa Altajer

  • Nabil Kuzbary

  • Nader Kalee

  • Nader Qali

  • Najee Aloutri

  • Numeer Alassad

  • Omar Karkour

  • Refat Alassad

  • Saheeb Alshami

  • Samer Hassan

  • Samer Alassad

  • Suliman Suliman

  • Talal Areslan

  • Thaer Abudel Allah Suliman

  • Wafeeka Alassad

  • Walid Zien

  • Waheeb Muree

  • Zazem Ghazaleh

  • Zuheir Ghazal

  • Zyad Shawkat

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: